Skip to main content

Blogger Beta

Have you upgraded your Blogger account to the new Blogger Beta? If not, you're missing out on these:

Linking with Google (Gmail) unified account. You don't need to remember your Blogger account details any more. You will be signing into Blogger using your Google account.

On the fly serving. Now the pages are no longer "published" as they used to be. Blogger Beta simply stores a database of your posts and everything, and when someone requests a page, Blogger creates it on demand and gives it them. You'll notice the difference when you have lots of posts. Previously, making a template change required you to republish, and that would take lot of time. Now there is no more republishing. A change in template is reflected immediately after the template is saved.

Layout. You can replace your template with the new layout system, which allows you to edit your layout directly rather than messing up with the HTML code behind it. Note that upgrading to layout requires you to lose all changes you made to your previous template. You'll have to manually add all the extras back on the layout. Blogger will save a copy of your template when you upgrade.

Labels: See below and you'll find labels for this post. This is one feature which Blogger had been lacking for a long time. Many other blogging website provided labelling system by default. Only now, is Blogger able to provide the same.

There are others like a new Dashboard, etc. Upgrade and you'll notice the difference.


Popular posts from this blog

Disable auto save in JetBrains IDE software (IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, PhpStorm)

JetBrains provides the following IDE software:
IntelliJ IDEAPhpStormPyCharmRubyMineWebStormAppCodeCLion Google also provides Android Studio which is powered by the IntelliJ platform.

If you come from a different IDE such as Eclipse, you will be unpleasantly surprised to find that JetBrains-branded IDEs automatically save everything the moment you look away. The proponents argue that as you work on your project, you should not have to worry about saving files. But to others, this auto-save behavior which is enabled by default is a curse that catches them by surprise, and a shocking departure from the workflow they are very much used to.

You can change the behavior by altering some settings.

Stop having to click Unblock on every downloaded file

CAUTION: The blocking of downloaded files in Windows is a security and safety feature to help prevent your computer from being infected by viruses and other malware. Only disable this feature if you know what you're doing.

I had been plagued by this annoyance since the days of Windows Vista. Any downloaded file, no matter what browser I use, gets tagged as "blocked" by Windows. You can open downloaded documents even though they are blocked, but when you run a downloaded application (such as a setup file) you're presented with a "Security Warning" before you're allowed to run it. It's worse if you extract a downloaded ZIP file with the Windows' built-in ZIP management. Every extracted file is blocked by default.

Being a geek who finds unnecessary "security" prompts annoying, the first thing I do in Windows is to disable the User Account Control (UAC). But I couldn't quite figure out how to disable blocking of downloaded files until …

Group, Ungroup and Regroup disabled in Word

I was editing a Microsoft Word document which had a collection of shapes and text boxes grouped together. I wanted to modify some of the shapes, and therefore I had to ungroup them. But when I right-click the group and open the Group menu, all three options namely Group, Ungroup and Regroup are completely disabled or grayed out.I couldn’t figure out what’s wrong. This group of objects is perfectly ungroupable, and I can even select objects within the group. However, Microsoft Word 2007 is not letting me ungroup it.I searched the Internet for a solution, but did not find anything very useful. The closest I came across is this statement: “The type of Text Wrapping doesn't make any difference as long as it isn't In Line with Text.” (Link here)Anyway, I changed the text wrapping of the group of objects from ‘In line with Text’ to ‘Tight’ and viola! I could now ungroup it and edit it. The document got a bit messed up when I did so, but after I ungrouped, edited and regrouped, I cha…