Skip to main content

What about UAC for restarting?

Vista needs permission for trivial stuff that the user already informs it that he/she wants to do. I had been using Vista on my friend's laptop for about half an hour, and I can tell you, I clicked "Continue" in the User Access Control dialog box at least 10 times.

On the contrary, Vista does not permission to do something that I DON'T want it to do! Like a restart after installation of updates. Vista can give you warning any time of the day that it's going to restart in 5 minutes, and it DOES NOT need your permission to restart. Microsoft already gave it the permission! You have no choice but to save your work and close all stuff and either wait for the stupid timer to complete or click "Restart Now". There is no way you can cancel the restarting!

Check this out: Tech Shakedown #4: Should Vista be able to force an unwanted reboot when it wants to?

For now, I'll stick to XP, which is so much more easier to use than this 'Wow' junk. I hate being interrupted by 'Wow' dialogs every 5 minutes, asking permission that's already given. And I even HATE to the max if 'Wow' force-restarts the computer without my permission or consent!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Disable auto save in JetBrains IDE software (IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, PhpStorm)

JetBrains provides the following IDE software:
IntelliJ IDEAPhpStormPyCharmRubyMineWebStormAppCodeCLion Google also provides Android Studio which is powered by the IntelliJ platform.

If you come from a different IDE such as Eclipse, you will be unpleasantly surprised to find that JetBrains-branded IDEs automatically save everything the moment you look away. The proponents argue that as you work on your project, you should not have to worry about saving files. But to others, this auto-save behavior which is enabled by default is a curse that catches them by surprise, and a shocking departure from the workflow they are very much used to.

You can change the behavior by altering some settings.

Stop having to click Unblock on every downloaded file

CAUTION: The blocking of downloaded files in Windows is a security and safety feature to help prevent your computer from being infected by viruses and other malware. Only disable this feature if you know what you're doing.

I had been plagued by this annoyance since the days of Windows Vista. Any downloaded file, no matter what browser I use, gets tagged as "blocked" by Windows. You can open downloaded documents even though they are blocked, but when you run a downloaded application (such as a setup file) you're presented with a "Security Warning" before you're allowed to run it. It's worse if you extract a downloaded ZIP file with the Windows' built-in ZIP management. Every extracted file is blocked by default.

Being a geek who finds unnecessary "security" prompts annoying, the first thing I do in Windows is to disable the User Account Control (UAC). But I couldn't quite figure out how to disable blocking of downloaded files until …

Setting up a local Oracle XE database and importing DMP file

The experience of setting up a local Oracle Express Edition database is not a straight-forward as it should be. The following is supposed to outline what could go wrong and how to go about it the right way. It also includes importing a DMP file (a dump) from another system.
First of all, download the installer from Oracle website. You will need to sign-in to download - the account creation is free. Be sure to choose the correct bit as per your computer (x64 or x86).Extract the download and install XE by running DISK1\setup.exe (and feel nostalgic of the floppy disk era). During installation, you will need to choose a new password. There will also be some details displayed after you enter the new password, such as folders and ports.Be sure to save both password and details in a text file for future reference.I saved it as C:\oraclexe\details.txt.Save password only if it's generic and you are likely to forget. The installation will take a while, but usually, no restart is necessary.O…