Skip to main content

Why a PDF Printer should be your default printer

The convenience of 'Quick Print' comes at a great cost (both to yourself and the environment). If you ever accidentally hit that shortcut, the document is immediately sent to the default printer. If your default printer happens to be a physical printer that's connected to your network or your computer directly, there goes valuable paper and ink churning out pages and pages of a document you never wanted to print, and you probably will trash or shred anyway.

Indeed, I had once been working on a Java source code file in Eclipse and I accidentally clicked the Print button in the toolbar. (Why a source code editor would even need a Print button is beyond me.) The entire 1596 lines of source code got sent to the printer and I couldn't even stop it from printing half way. That ended up on 33 pages, and consequently 33 sheets of paper. Now I have this stack of paper on my desk with one particular version of the source code, all printed and 'set in stone'. Since it is useless printed material, I just keep it around for using the unprinted side as scrap paper.

The annoying superbug with all printer drivers is that if you try use the 'Cancel Printing' option in Windows, it will either never actually get cancelled, or it will more likely just corrupt your printer's memory (which you will see as completely random characters being printed onto seemingly endless number of pages when you try to print something else afterwards). The other option (and the solution to a corrupt printer memory) is to unplug the printer and wait for its memory to be flushed out, but this may be difficult or even against work policy with a network printer.

Thankfully, there are softwares like PDF Printers. If you have Microsoft Office installed, you will probably even have options like XPS Printer or 'Send to OneNote'. Or if you never actually use Fax, it's another viable option. You should set one of these 'soft copy printers' as your default printer.

Once such a printer is set as default, if you ever accidentally send a document to print, it will only create a file or some form of digital representation on your computer. It will no longer waste your valuable resources like paper and ink on your physical 'hard copy printers', or cost unnecessary expenses to your organization. You can simply delete away the "printed" file from your computer, and it's like you never even printed in the first place!

I have also removed the darned Quick Print button from the Eclipse toolbar. If I need to print, I can select File > Print or press Ctrl-P (it brings up the print dialog box). Which reminds me: If you need to print a hard copy, use the Print option (usually marked as 'Print...') that brings up the print dialog box, then choose the physical printer. Note that most applications will remember your print settings for the current session. So once you have chosen a different printer, even the Quick Print option in the application will print to the chosen printer - until you exit the program and start it again (this action will revert it to the default printer).


Popular posts from this blog

Disable auto save in JetBrains IDE software (IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, PhpStorm)

JetBrains provides the following IDE software:
IntelliJ IDEAPhpStormPyCharmRubyMineWebStormAppCodeCLion Google also provides Android Studio which is powered by the IntelliJ platform.

If you come from a different IDE such as Eclipse, you will be unpleasantly surprised to find that JetBrains-branded IDEs automatically save everything the moment you look away. The proponents argue that as you work on your project, you should not have to worry about saving files. But to others, this auto-save behavior which is enabled by default is a curse that catches them by surprise, and a shocking departure from the workflow they are very much used to.

You can change the behavior by altering some settings.

Stop having to click Unblock on every downloaded file

CAUTION: The blocking of downloaded files in Windows is a security and safety feature to help prevent your computer from being infected by viruses and other malware. Only disable this feature if you know what you're doing.

I had been plagued by this annoyance since the days of Windows Vista. Any downloaded file, no matter what browser I use, gets tagged as "blocked" by Windows. You can open downloaded documents even though they are blocked, but when you run a downloaded application (such as a setup file) you're presented with a "Security Warning" before you're allowed to run it. It's worse if you extract a downloaded ZIP file with the Windows' built-in ZIP management. Every extracted file is blocked by default.

Being a geek who finds unnecessary "security" prompts annoying, the first thing I do in Windows is to disable the User Account Control (UAC). But I couldn't quite figure out how to disable blocking of downloaded files until …

Group, Ungroup and Regroup disabled in Word

I was editing a Microsoft Word document which had a collection of shapes and text boxes grouped together. I wanted to modify some of the shapes, and therefore I had to ungroup them. But when I right-click the group and open the Group menu, all three options namely Group, Ungroup and Regroup are completely disabled or grayed out.I couldn’t figure out what’s wrong. This group of objects is perfectly ungroupable, and I can even select objects within the group. However, Microsoft Word 2007 is not letting me ungroup it.I searched the Internet for a solution, but did not find anything very useful. The closest I came across is this statement: “The type of Text Wrapping doesn't make any difference as long as it isn't In Line with Text.” (Link here)Anyway, I changed the text wrapping of the group of objects from ‘In line with Text’ to ‘Tight’ and viola! I could now ungroup it and edit it. The document got a bit messed up when I did so, but after I ungrouped, edited and regrouped, I cha…