Skip to main content

How do I rename a label for my Facebook Page's messages?

If you have a Facebook Page and you're receiving messages in it, you may have noticed that you can organize chats with labels. A conversation can even have multiple labels applied on it. This should be very useful for you and your fellow page admins to filter and track their categorization as well as their status.

While this is an excellent feature which allows you to create new labels, delete labels that you no longer need, apply colors to labels, filter by labels and even combine two labels into one, Facebook has totally missed out on a very important yet very basic functionality: renaming a label.

Until such time that Facebook realizes what they have missed out and fixes the problem by giving us a one-click rename option for the label management, here's a trick how you can rename an existing label. This trick uses the functionality of combining two labels to create an empty label and combine it with the existing label that you want to rename. Here's how it works:
  1. Open your Page's Messages page. Usually this is facebook.com/yourpageurl/messages
  2. Select a chat. On the right side, in the Labels section, click "Add & Manage".
  3. In the pop-up window, Type in any random name (like 123, abc, asdf, A, anything) and click Add.
  4. In the list, hover over the labels until you see checkboxes next to them. Click the two checkboxes for:
    1. The label you want to rename, and
    2. The label with the random name.
  5. At the top right corner above the list, you will see a new Combine button. Click it.
  6. In the text box below, type in the new name for the label you want to rename. Click the Combine button on the right side of the text box.
That's it, you have renamed the label from a old name to a new name by using the trick above, which is to combine the label with a dummy label. All the conversations with the old label will automatically move to the new label. Since the dummy label would have no conversations attached to it, nothing else is affected.

Of course, the above trick is only needed and useful until such time that Facebook finally implements "Rename" functionality directly in the existing labels. Let me know when that happens!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Disable auto save in JetBrains IDE software (IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, PhpStorm)

JetBrains provides the following IDE software:
IntelliJ IDEAPhpStormPyCharmRubyMineWebStormAppCodeCLion Google also provides Android Studio which is powered by the IntelliJ platform.

If you come from a different IDE such as Eclipse, you will be unpleasantly surprised to find that JetBrains-branded IDEs automatically save everything the moment you look away. The proponents argue that as you work on your project, you should not have to worry about saving files. But to others, this auto-save behavior which is enabled by default is a curse that catches them by surprise, and a shocking departure from the workflow they are very much used to.

You can change the behavior by altering some settings.

Stop having to click Unblock on every downloaded file

CAUTION: The blocking of downloaded files in Windows is a security and safety feature to help prevent your computer from being infected by viruses and other malware. Only disable this feature if you know what you're doing.

I had been plagued by this annoyance since the days of Windows Vista. Any downloaded file, no matter what browser I use, gets tagged as "blocked" by Windows. You can open downloaded documents even though they are blocked, but when you run a downloaded application (such as a setup file) you're presented with a "Security Warning" before you're allowed to run it. It's worse if you extract a downloaded ZIP file with the Windows' built-in ZIP management. Every extracted file is blocked by default.

Being a geek who finds unnecessary "security" prompts annoying, the first thing I do in Windows is to disable the User Account Control (UAC). But I couldn't quite figure out how to disable blocking of downloaded files until …

How to change default and internal currency in self-hosted Odoo or OpenERP

If you wish to use Odoo in a single-currency environment, you will find issues changing the currency in the Odoo interface itself. If you have a self-hosted solution of Odoo or OpenERP, you already have unprecedented control over the system, unlike the cloud-based solution from Odoo. This means that you can very easily fix the issue by hacking the database that Odoo is relying on. Even in a multi-currency environment, you can use the same trick to change the global default currency - the fix is very clean for any environment - there is just an extra step to update the currency rate settings.

Even in the latest version of Odoo, we still face the ridiculous bug that Odoo internally ALWAYS uses EUR (Euro) as the internal currency. This has created many problems for many users wanting to use a different currency. Despite being set to a different currency from the Odoo interface, the eCommerce site, reports, accounting, etc are still shown using EUR and the Euro symbol, creating confusion…